The Amigne Path - Vétroz The Grands Crus - www.amigne.ch

  |  Home  |  FR  |  DE  |
Click on the number to display description

THE AMIGNE WINE PATH

Vétroz did not become an independent commune until 1862, after nearly two millennia as a dependence of the commune of Conthey. One can only too easily imagine that the division of the land was far from painless. As far as the vineyards are concerned, Conthey retained the upper portion of the slope, while the lower slope (up to 640 meters in altitude) and the plain (the southern portion of Balavaud and the area around the Botza).

The Amigne Wine Path covers a distance of 2.7 km. made up entirely of paved road presenting no particular difficulty to the walker. The circuit takes about 45 minutes to complete.

It was created by the commune of Vétroz and the United Vinegrowing Winemakers of Vétroz, and was inaugurated on June 3, 2005.

Every year on the first weekend of June the Festival of the Flowering Amigne takes place here. On this occasion the winemakers present their products to the public in a relaxed and celebratory atmosphere.


Close this description Close this description

1. THE PRIORY VINEYARD

The winemakers of Vétroz are in the best position to become specialists of the Amigne grape. To this end, they decided to create an Amigne Conservatory in the Priory Vineyard. Here experiments in vine cultivation are conducted with the objective of enhancing our knowledge of this local treasure, the Amigne.

Several stone-slab tombs can be found in the vineyard of Monsignor the Prior. They are situated below the plot containing the diverse clones of the Amigne, and date from the second Iron Age, between 450 and 454 B.C.

Close this description Close this description

2. MUR DE MENGE

Ampelographic description of the Amigne vine

The vine shoot is beige, tinged with violet, pruinose, with nodes of a very pronounced violet hue. A vigorous variety, the Amigne has from medium to large leaves, rounded in form and slightly bullate without pronounced indentation. The underside is pubescent and the edges turn slightly downward. The lower leaves of the vines begin to yellow from the edges once they have reached maturity. The Amigne ripens about three weeks later than the Chasselas. The varietal is highly susceptible to coulure and millerandage. The bunch is medium to large, very elongated, loose and multi-branched. It has a very long peduncle. The berries, slightly ovoid, are green with golden highlights.

This wall was painted by the school children of Vétroz. The project undertook to "dress" the base of the concrete retaining walls (prohibited today) with a design created by the Valisian painter Charles Menge - hence its name.

Close this description Close this description

3. RESERVOIR

Vétroz enjoys a privileged position where the winds are concerned as well. The air is well circulated in the region by winds that are on the gentle side.

Rainfall is another important climatic factor. Central Valais is one of the driest regions in Switzerland with an average of only 579 mm of precipitation annually, measured at Sion.

The slopes of Vétroz enjoy remarkable southern to southeastern exposure to the sun. The average gradient of 38 percent increases the intensity of solar radiation, considerable even without it. In fact, the slopes of Vétroz and the summit of Balavaud are classed in the "very warm" zone on the thermal map of Switzerland. The annual foliage period falls in a range between 235 and 245 days.

Formations of marl, limestone, schist, and calcareous schist make up the essential bedrock here; this is covered by a layer of ancient lateral moraines left behind by the Rhodanian glacier that once extended over all of the Valais and beyond.

This, together with the clay and limestone composition typical of marl, accounts for the increased erosion wherever this sedimentary rock dominates. The presence of frequent "combs" is a sure sign of marly bedrock.

Close this description Close this description

4. PLACE DES EPINETTES

The unique quality of the soils of Vétroz is due above all to the presence of black Dogger shale, made up of marine sediments deposited some 160 to 170 million years ago during the Middle Jurassic period (also called Dogger). This characteristic rock of the Vétroz slopes is very conducive to viticulture. Its dark color stores warmth like a rechargeable solar battery, while the mineralogical clays of the rock play the role of a storehouse for water and mineral elements.

The principle rocks that make up the soils of Vétroz are also found in the vineyard walls. On your left you will find one in which the different rocks are labeled by name.

The Roman origins of Vétroz have never been in doubt among historians due to the objects dating from the period that have been found here. It is then no surprise that the Amigne, also, is thought to have distant Roman origins!

Vétroz did not become an independent commune until 1862, after nearly two millennia as a dependence of the commune of Conthey. One can only too easily imagine that the division of the land was far from painless. As far as the vineyards are concerned, Conthey retained the upper portion of the slope, while the lower slope (up to 640 meters in altitude) and the plain (the southern portion of Balavaud and the area around the Botza).

Close this description Close this description

5. TORRENT D'AVEN

The Amigne is a distinctive and unique variety, as recent DNA research has clearly verified. This ancient white varietal was in all likelihood brought here by the Romans. The vitis aminea finds mention in the third volume De re rustica, by Columella. Because of the Amigne, the Valais can claim a tradition of viticulture extending over two millennia. Few winegrowing regions can boast as much.

The microclimate created here by the stream is conducive to the development of numerous deciduous trees. You will find many of them named on the trunks in the surrounding area.

Close this description Close this description

6. TORRENT DU MOULIN

The Grands Crus of Vétroz
Relations among the winemakers of Vétroz are, generally speaking, very good. This unity allowed for the creation of the United Vinegrowing Winemakers of Vétroz in 1989. Under the current president, André Fontannaz, its members played a major role in the definition of Regulations for the Grands Crus of Vétroz, approved four years later by the Valisian State Council. Vétroz thus became only the second viticultural commune in the Valais (after Salquenen) to adopt such a system of regulation.

On the wall below you, numerous exogenous rocks (labeled) give witness to the transportational power of the Rhodanian glaciers.

In the area above and on the eastern side of the little bridge that crosses the gorge of the Moulin, archeologists have discovered tombs made of slabs of schist and containing two vases each.

integration and CMS made by Web Design Xperience sàrl
design par www.bernardmoix.ch

Promenade de l'Amigne - Les Grands Crus de Vétroz - amigne.ch

  |  Accueil  |  EN  |  DE  |
Cliquez sur le numéro pour voir la description

LA PROMENADE DE L'AMIGNE

Rattachée depuis les premiers siècles de notre ère à la commune de Conthey, Vétroz n'est devenue indépendante qu'en 1862. On l'imagine aisément : le partage des terres ne s'est pas fait sans douleur. Pour ce qui est du vignoble, Conthey a conservé le haut du coteau, celui de Vétroz ne couvrant que la plaine (la partie sud de Balavaud et la zone du Botza) et les premiers coteaux, jusqu'à 640 mètres d'altitude.

La promenade de l'Amigne représente une distance de 2.7 km et passe uniquement par des routes goudronnées ne présentant aucune difficulté particulière pour le promeneur. Il faut compter environ 45 minutes pour l'effectuer.

Elle a été crée par la commune de Vétroz et le Groupement des encaveurs de Vétroz. Son inauguration a eu lieu le 3 juin 2005.

La Fête de la Fleur d'Amigne a lieu chaque année le premier week-end de juin sur cette place. C'est l'occasion pour les producteurs de présenter leurs crus au public, dans une atmosphère conviviale.


Fermer cette description Fermer cette description
1. VIGNE DU PRIEURE

Les encaveurs de Vétroz sont les mieux placés pour devenir les spécialistes de l'Amigne. Pour ce faire, ils ont choisi de créer un Conservatoire de l'amigne sur la vigne du Prieuré. Des essais viti-vinicoles y sont menés afin de toujours mieux connaître et valoriser ce trésor qu'est l'Amigne.

Des tombes à dalles se trouvent dans la vigne de Mr le Prieur, située en contrebas de la parcelle aux multiples clones d'Amigne. Elles datent du second âge du fer entre 450 et -54 avant J.-C.

Fermer cette description Fermer cette description
2. MUR DE MENGE

Description ampélographique de l'Amigne

Le sarment est beige violacé, pruiné, avec des noeuds à nuance violette très marquée. Cépage vigoureux, l'Amigne a des feuilles moyennes à grandes, rondes, légèrement bullées, assez peu découpées. Elles sont veloutées à la face inférieure et leurs bords se retournent vers le bas. Les feuilles basales des ceps se colorent en jaune depuis le bord, dès le début de la maturation. L'Amigne mûrit environ trois semaines après le Chasselas. Ce cépage est très sensible à la coulure et au millerandage. La grappe est moyenne à grande, très allongée, lâche et rameuse. Elle a un pédoncule très long. Les baies, légèrement ovales, sont vertes avec des nuances dorées.

Ce mur fut peint par les enfants des écoles de Vétroz afin d'habiller les murs de soutènement en béton (aujourd'hui prohibés) sur la base d'un projet du célèbre peintre valaisan Charles Menge, d'où son nom actuel.

Fermer cette description Fermer cette description
3. RESERVOIR

Le Climat

Vétroz bénéficie une fois de plus d'une situation privilégiée en ce qui concerne les vents. Cette zone est bien aérée mais de manière plutôt douce.

Autre facteur climatique d'importance, la pluviosité. Le Valais central est l'une des régions les plus sèches de Suisse avec une moyenne de 579 mm par an mesurée à Sion.

Le coteau de Vétroz est remarquablement exposé, sud / sud-est. La pente moyenne de 38 pour cent permet d'accroître l'importance du rayonnement solaire déjà conséquent. En effet, le coteau de Vétroz et le sommet de Balavaud se trouvent dans une zone qualifiée de "très chaude" par la carte des niveaux thermiques de la Suisse. Le nombre de jours de végétation s'inscrit dans une fourchette de 235 à 245 par an.

Les roches telles que la marne, le calcaire, le schiste et le calcschiste forment l'essentiel du sous-sol viticole, recouvert quant à lui, des anciennes moraines latérales déposées par le glacier rhodanien qui recouvrait entre autre, l'entier du Valais.

De là, et de par la composition "argilo-calcaire" qui caractérise la marne, s'ensuivit une érosion plus active là où domine cette roche sédimentaire. La présence de nombreuses "combes" témoignent d'un sous-sol marneux.

Fermer cette description Fermer cette description
4. PLACE DES EPINETTES

L'originalité des sols de Vétroz est due essentiellement à la présence du schiste noir argileux du Dogger, constitué de sédiments marins déposés il y a 160 à 170 millions d'années, durant le Jurassique moyen (appelé aussi Dogger). Cette roche typique du coteau de Vétroz est très propice à la viticulture. En effet, sa couleur foncée lui permet d'emmagasiner la chaleur solaire alors que les argiles minéralogiques de la roche jouent le rôle de garde-manger en retenant l'eau et les éléments minéraux.

Les principales roches composant les sols de Vétroz se retrouvent dans les murs de vigne. Sur celui à gauche ces roches sont mentionnées par leur nom.

L'origine romaine de Vétroz ne fait aucun doute pour les historiens puisque des objets datant de cette époque y ont été retrouvés. Pas étonnant dès lors qu'on ait prêté à l'Amigne une très lointaine origine romaine !

Rattachée depuis les premiers siècles de notre ère à la commune de Conthey, Vétroz n'est devenue indépendante qu'en 1862. On l'imagine aisément : le partage des terres ne s'est pas fait sans douleur. Pour ce qui est du vignoble, Conthey a conservé le haut du coteau, celui de Vétroz ne couvrant que la plaine (la partie sud de Balavaud et la zone du Botza) et les premiers coteaux, jusqu'à 640 mètres d'altitude.

Fermer cette description Fermer cette description
5. TORRENT D'AVEN

L'Amigne est un cépage unique. De récentes recherches portant sur l'ADN l'ont clairement démontré. Cette antique variété blanche est probablement d'origine romaine. Columelle mentionne, en effet, Vitis aminea dans le troisième livre de son De Re Rustica. A travers l'Amigne, le Valais peut ainsi prétendre à une tradition viticole deux fois millénaire. Peu de vignobles peuvent en dire autant.

Le microclimat créé par le torrent est propice au développement de nombreux feuillus. Leurs noms sont mentionnés sur certains arbres alentour.

Fermer cette description Fermer cette description

6. TORRENT DU MOULIN

Les grands crus de Vétroz

Les encaveurs de Vétroz s'entendent généralement très bien. Cette unité a permis, en 1989, la naissance du Groupement des encaveurs de Vétroz. Sous la conduite du premier président, André Fontannaz, ses membres ont largement contribué à l'élaboration du Règlement des Grands Crus de Vétroz, approuvé par le Conseil d'Etat valaisan quatre ans plus tard. Après Salquenen, Vétroz devenait ainsi la seconde commune viticole du Valais à posséder un tel règlement.

Sur le mur plus bas, de nombreuses roches exogènes (nommées) témoignent du rôle de transporteur joué par les glaciers rhodaniens.

Dans la zone au dessus du petit pont qui enjambe la gorge du Moulin côté est, des tombes construites en dalles de schiste contenant deux vases à l'intérieur furent découvertes par les archéologues.

integration and CMS made by Web Design Xperience sàrl
design par www.bernardmoix.ch